Pages

Harry Potter And The Deathly Hallows Part 1 Review

Daniel Radcliffe filming for Harry Potter and ...

Image via Wikipedia

The biggest release in British film this year, Harry Potter, hit the big screens across the UK last week; and not only is it the adaptation of the final book, but its the first part, with the second part following next year. Now, having read the books, I find it hard not to compare the film to JK Rowling’s masterpiece, but I really want the final film to work, which is why I believe they split the final episode of the saga into two films, so they could get the most out of the book as possible..and more money of course. I actually can’t believe it’s the final film already. I remember the first film, low budget, poor acting; but the excitement was there, and for some reason the excitement came back for me because its the end of an era, for me, and I’m sure for all of the Harry Potter fans out there.

Part 1 is probably the most darkest Harry Potter film to date, however I do feel they try to mix too much comedy within the dark parts, in that I mean when things are getting really serious, Ron, Harry or Hermione make a pun or a funny line, and I didn’t know when to take it seriously. All the people who have read the last book will know it’s very dark and serious. I do support them making it funny in parts because it’s meant to have a humourous aspect, and maybe because I watched it in a busy cinema room it made things funnier because there were more people there to laugh. But they over did it in Part 1, although it didn’t ruin the film.

Daniel Radcliffe’s acting has improved, which is what we needed for the finale. But all credit will have to go to Emma Watson, who excels the most in this film, and I was very impressed how she rose to the challenge, to the mood of the film, and she has been very consistent since ‘The Prisoner of Azkaban’. I think she stands out because her acting is the most convincing out of the three. Ron, as usual, is the novelty friend, but that isn’t a bad thing, as he’s the comical character in the books.

The mood of the film is presented in the first 5 minutes, which was a good move I think – there’s no point in trying to slowly make a transition into dark when this is it – this is the one where Harry’s fate is finally decided and the rest of the characters’ as well. You can tell the budget for the production has significantly improved, because the special effects are the best yet. I can’t wait to see what it’s going to look like in 3D for the second installment. And now, to compare it to the book, I think this film is the closest it has ever gotten to the book, probably because they have more to fit in with splitting it into two parts, and they have all of the story ends to tie. They managed to explain the situation more and allow more chapters to be filled.

Before I went to watch this film I got a lot of feedback. Firstly it’s, ‘too dark’ – well to be honest, if you haven’t read the books then you would understand it was meant to be dark 3 films ago; they only lighten it up so it’s fitting for kids too. Another one was, ‘I expected more’, and I can kind of understand what they mean by that. If you haven’t read the book, then splitting the book into two was always going to be hard to do. It was never going to be a hard hitting ending because part 2 is going to be the one where the main events happen. The next part will be twice as emotional, and full of evil happenings and action. I suppose part 1 brings you into the final stages of the story so you’re ready for the next one.

If you’re a lover of the films, a lover of the books, or even both, then you should definitely go and see Part 1 of  The Deathly Hallows,  because it’s probably the best Harry Potter film to date. Yes, it is slow, but you need to understand that they’ve split one book into two, which is a hard thing to do, which I can’t say I’ve seen many films do fantastically; and so far, they’ve done a damn well terrific job with it.

rating: 4.4/5

By Daniel Hart

Leave a Reply

