Pages

Harry Potter And The Deathly Hallows Part 2: The Final Review.

Emma Watson filming for Harry Potter and the D...

Image via Wikipedia

Fortunately for me I have read all of the Harry Potter books, but it’s unfortunate that in the past, my passion for the books has dampened my spirit when it comes to watching the films. I’m sure most of the readers felt frustrated in the past when certain parts of the storyline weren’t portrayed properly in the film or the most important key moments were not included. I voiced my frustration when I wrote ‘The problem between Harry Potter books and the films’ a week ago. However, since I learnt that J.K. Rowling herself, was one of the producers of both Deathly Hallows Part 1 & 2, I decided to watch the films with an open mind. Because how could it fail when the author has more power in the making of the film?

The film starts off relatively slow,  I was half expecting it to go full speed right at the start after the ending of Part 1. I’m glad it started off slow because it shows they thought about how it was going to come together in two parts. You are immediately given the impression in the first 30 minutes of the film that there is going to be a lot of fast flowing magical action scenes. And with each minute passing by you can feel the end of an era. Even right at the start, the director David Yates, gives the audience the feeling of the inevitable closure of the story. I could actually feel my childhood slipping away with each second the film came closer to the end.
The battle scenes are impressive, being much better than I first imagined and longer too. The gasps of desperation and fight from the characters gave you goosebumps like no other Harry Potter film has given you before. It’s not as emotional as I thought it would have been, but it still engrosses you in to the point that you can’t keep your eyes off the screen. And if you didn’t understand Horcruxes  in part 1, which I get the feeling some people didn’t, well luckily you can’t get away from the term in this film because it drills it in your head that the Horcruxes are the key to defeating Voldemort (Ralph Fiennes).

In terms of dialogue, don’t expect a lot of close emotional talks between characters because you got all that in part 1. Expect fighting talk, wizard fighting talk if that’s what you want to call it. However, there are a few moments that will take you by surprise, you’ll see.

In terms of the storyline, I was shocked with the accuracy of the plot from the books. Not only did they manage to fit in the most important parts, but they executed it really well. And I can’t help but think it was J.K. Rowling’s input that sparked such a brilliant Harry Potter film, imagine if she had valuable input from the start…

I know I’ve criticized Daniel Radcliffe in the past for his acting, however there’s not much criticism on his part in the film. Maybe this is because most of the film involves action scenes. But he justifies an ending which is all we really asked from him. Rupert Grint and Emma Watson did their usual best and the love story  looked way more convincing between Ron and Hermione when the feeling of desperation was involved. You should also lift your hats to Alan Rickman, who has managed to stick consistently with his character’s motive from the start, doing so fantastically. What would Harry Potter be like without Severus Snape.

For book fans, non-book fans, adults and children, this film will feel like a real end of an era because that’s what the mood of the film gives you. For the first time since reading the books I felt like I’ve truly parted ways with the story, but I’m sure we will relive the story by watching the films and reading the books again. My only genuine criticism which some may argue against, is that the ending of part 2 could have been better, it felt like ‘oh that part of the story is done now, lets move on’, when they could have done so much more to make the audience feel more upset.

On the 30th June 1997, the first Harry Potter book ‘Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone’ was released. November 4th 2001 the first film was released. July 21st 2007 the last book ‘Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows’ was released to conclude the story. The last film to conclude the story was released on the 15th July 2011. What an era.

iHartmovies rating: 4.3/5

By Daniel Hart

Leave a Reply

